There is a light

A friend of mine is celebrating her soon to be final divorce by going out with a guy this weekend.  He keeps sending her text messages about how “hot” she is.  And while this might be cute if you’re, say, 20, it’s not so attractive coming from an almost 50 year old to someone he hardly knows. Heebies. But whatever.

For some reason, all of this back and forth about “what should I wear” and “should I meet him at the restaurant or have him pick me up” got me singing take me out tonight from the old Smiths tune There is a light that never goes out.  I have always loved that song.

I’m also really miserable at deciphering lyrics, so I never really knew what Morrissey was singing about.  And if a ten ton truck kills the both of us, well the pleasure the privilege is mine.  Whatever.

Today I realized something: Oh please don’t drop me home Because it’s not my home, it’s their home And I’m welcome no more could be about a young person who has come out to his/her parents and is dealing with the fallout.  The double-decker bus massacre lyrics could be about this person finding a true love, with whom this person is so enamored they would feel privileged to be turned to roadkill with.

I know that feeling.

There is a light that never goes out. 

Husband worked from home yesterday, and when he does that, he makes himself a spot somewhere in the house that he will be out of the traffic flow and where he is feeling the love, so to speak.  Yesterday it was in Baby Girl’s bedroom.  Sitting on her bed, surrounded by pink walls and the gauzy mosquito-netting, he was having a creative team conference call.  He was absolutely radiant.  His light was positively beaming.

And I was awestruck.

He has a light.  A very bright light.  And I cannot help but be drawn to it, and greedily take all I can for my own.

Whatever messes there are, whatever incongruencies, whatever incompatibilities, whatever whatever.  I love that light.

Take me out tonight
Where there’s music and there’s people
Who are young and alive

(now this one is playing:

And when you want to Live
How do you start ?
Where do you go ?
Who do you need to know ?

The boy with the thorn in his side.  Oh how I love how he intertwines the lyrics with the melody. Big smiles.)

 

Leave a Reply

